New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Sail GP Great Britain crash into Japan
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Sail GP Great Britain crash into Japan

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Jon Meadowcroft View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 Aug 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote Jon Meadowcroft Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Dec 21 at 3:09pm
Re the windward mark incident.  I think that the interpretation of the rule is that Japan got to the left hand buoy zone first which is forcing GB to tack and take the right hand one and they would have then avoided a penalty.  There is no right for them to be able to stay on their foils.

Against NZ I think that Japan are only restricted on proper course on the final leg if they are overlapped with NZ.  They can definitely go above and try and roll them to windward when they are behind.  They are following behind  and going below them and faster as NZ lost so much speed in the double tube.  there are two attempts by NZ to bear away and they seem to skid sideways into the path of Japan.  It looks like the foul is called on the first one of these?

Only when they become overlapped is the leeward boats proper course relevant is my view of it.
Back to Top
ohFFsake View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 04 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 208
Post Options Post Options   Quote ohFFsake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Dec 21 at 3:52pm
Originally posted by Jon Meadowcroft

Re the windward mark incident.  I think that the interpretation of the rule is that Japan got to the left hand buoy zone first which is forcing GB to tack and take the right hand one and they would have then avoided a penalty.  There is no right for them to be able to stay on their foils.
Japan reached the mark zone first which then requires GB to give them mark room which they were clearly doing, and which is their only obligation surely?

Originally posted by Jon Meadowcroft

Against NZ I think that Japan are only restricted on proper course on the final leg if they are overlapped with NZ.  They can definitely go above and try and roll them to windward when they are behind.  They are following behind  and going below them and faster as NZ lost so much speed in the double tube.  there are two attempts by NZ to bear away and they seem to skid sideways into the path of Japan.  It looks like the foul is called on the first one of these?

Only when they become overlapped is the leeward boats proper course relevant is my view of it.
I agree that as soon as the leeward boat becomes overlapped they must then sail no higher than their proper course.

I've just watched the video again and what I see is JPN gaining an overlap and NZ immediately altering course to avoid them, whilst they simultaneously bear away down to their proper course. Before the overlap both boats can freely sail the course they choose, and after it they both have an obligation to respond immediately to keep clear. They both do and there is no collision, so I don't see a rule broken.

JPN gain the overlap travelling at a significantly higher speed so I don't believe it is reasonable to say they gained right of way by NZ's actions, especially when NZ respond instantly the overlap is gained. In fact NZ turning away doesn't break the overlap which reinforces this point.

I really think both of these cases were bad calls made in haste by umpires pressured into snap decisions, and I'd hate to see the outcome of the AC decided by a call of this nature.

Last weeks Formula 1 controversy is perhaps a clear demonstration of what we need to avoid
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy